ROOST CEO James McKenna to join Lake Placid Hall of Fame

25 Aug ROOST CEO James McKenna to join Lake Placid Hall of Fame

LAKE PLACID — The Lake Placid Hall of Fame Committee has named its nominees for induction to the Lake Placid Hall of Fame.

The inductees for the 2015 class are James B. McKenna and Beverley Pratt Reid. The 2015 nominees will be inducted into the Hall of Fame, which can be found in the Conference Center at Lake Placid.

The 32nd Annual Induction Banquet will be held, Nov. 7, 2015, at the Conference Center at Lake Placid and is scheduled to begin with a cash bar at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. Tickets are $38 and are now available at the Olympic Center box office through Tuesday, Nov. 3.

The Lake Placid Hall of Fame began in 1983 and has inducted over 100 individuals, as well as the members of the 1948 U.S. Olympic four-man bobsled team and the 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team. Permanent plaques commemorating each member are on display in the Conference Center at Lake Placid.

James McKenna, who is the CEO of Lake Placid’s Regional Office of Sustainable Tourism, has had an extraordinary impact on the success of Lake Placid and the surrounding region. He has been instrumental in the nurturing of sports and local athletes through the Uihlein-Ironman Sports Fund of Lake Placid, providing financial support for competitive local young athletes with regional, national and international promise and nonprofit organizations that expose area youth to summer and winter sports. In addition, McKenna has served on many committees, and as a trustee for the Henry Uihlein II and Mildred A. Uihlein Foundation, he has helped countless individuals and organizations rise to the level of their dreams.

Reid, who was born in Lake Placid in 1933, has always been, and continues to be, extremely proud of her heritage and the community of LakePlacid. She has dedicated her 83 years of life to her family, friends, and the community of Lake Placid through volunteer work with the Lake Placid Pee Wee Association (now known as LPYAA), Lake Placid Central School Alumni Association, Lake Placid Adirondack Church, Lake Placid/North Elba Historical Society, Lake Placid Beautification Inc., and the Lake Placid Public Library.

To be considered for induction into the Lake Placid Hall of Fame, individuals should be past or current residents of the Olympic region or have some significant connection to the area. Carefully selected by Hall of Fame Committee members, all nominees must have made significant sports, cultural or civic contributions to the region, or their endeavors must have enhanced the historical heritage of the area. The 2015 Lake Placid Hall of Fame Committee is Ron Butler, Sue Cameron, Ben Cross, Alison Haas, Jack Irvin, Jack Laduke, Carol Nevulis, Howard Riley, and Carrie Wardlaw.

No Comments

Post A Comment